Question - Multiple H1b

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question - Multiple H1b

I am a physician on a H1b visa (cap exempt). I have completed a 3 years J1 waiver and have I-140 approved with a priority date in 2012 (EB2, Indian national). I am looking for my visa options to start moonlighting with a separate group who provides physicians for different hospitals in multiple states.

1. Is it possible to have a separate H1b for a different employer? Is the process too complicated, or in other words, could it create any problems for my existing H1b through my primary employer?

2. I was told that I can start working for the new employer right after receipt of my application at USCIS without waiting for a formal decision. Would you recommend doing that?

3. Also, this new employer has moonlighting shifts available in multiple cities with different hospitals. Can I work at multiple sites after obtaining a single visa through the group? All these sites are under different health systems but under same employer.

4. Can I file for this H1b myself or it should be done through my new employer? In other words, is it mandatory for my employer to pay the expenses involved in the application?

I would hightly appreciate your reponses.

1. Is it possible to have a separate H1b for a different employer?
    >>> Possible. The 2nd H1B need to be filed as a concurrent H1B petition (You need to be very careful about that) and that should get approved.

Is the process too complicated, or in other words, could it create any problems for my existing H1b through my primary employer?
    >>> No issues as long as USCIS approved your 2nd H1B petition as a concurrent H1B petition instead of a H1B transfer from one employer to another.

2. I was told that I can start working for the new employer right after receipt of my application at USCIS without waiting for a formal decision. Would you recommend doing that?