H1 Extention, H4, I-94 question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• H1 Extention, H4, I-94 question

If H1B is extended, will they send you new I-94 for dependents (H4 holders) also? Do you have to specifically apply for H4 extension or (new I-94)? Who does this? - Employer takes care of this or should the applications do it on their own? What is the pocedure and how much does it cost?
    --------------------------------------------------
    Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer, just sharing my point of view.

H4 Extension

Hi,

Actually, my H1B and H4 to my family got at the same time and valid until Sept 2007.

1) Last year I did my H1B transfer to new employer and got only my I-94 extension upto June 2009 with New Notice of Action.

2) Now our (all of our) orginal visa on passport (H1B / H4) is going to expire end of Sept'07.

3) We visited India, and On return, all our (family) passport I-94 expire date is June 2009 at the port of entry.

Questions / doubts ----
    1) Do I need to apply for H4 for my family? or a valid I-94 on passport is good enough (which is until June 2009)? I remember while applying for my H1B transfer I sent all the details about my family H4 extension but got only my I-94 extesion.

2) If we want to visit India again what should I do, like going to Mexico or Canada to get new visa issue? or take appointment with US consulate in India.

I appricate in advance and please responsed.

Thank you.

Comment

H4 extension

If H1B is extended, will they send you new I-94 for dependents (H4 holders) also?

---- NO, nothing is automatic. USCIS does not know that you have a family unless you send in an application claiming that you have dependents and apply for their legal status

Do you have to specifically apply for H4 extension or (new I-94)?

---- Yes, you have to specifically apply for H4 extension as they are your dependents

Who does this? - Employer takes care of this or should the applications do it on their own?