Moving from England to the USA

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Moving from England to the USA

Hi people. I have just been searching for advice on the internet, and came across this useful website and forum.

My situation is this: A while back I met a girl from Maryland, USA, and we have now decided that it would be nice if I could move over there and work, so we can get a place together.

We have both been doing quite a bit of reading, on the internet, etc, to see how I would go about getting over there. I graduated in Computer Science last year, so from what I understand, the best option for me would be to try and find an employer who is willing to sponsor me, and apply for a H1B visa for me.

I am currently working here in the UK, and plan to pay off some small debts and save a little before I try and make the move to the USA. Therefore I think I will be ready to make the move in around 6 months time - and we have both agreed that 6 months is about the longest we could stand being seperated like this (having to fly back and forth every couple of months to visit each other).

I must admit that the whole process does look very confusing to me, so at the moment I am favouring the option of paying one of those companies setup to help people like me out - namely h1base.com. I was chatting to one of their advisors earlier, and although he was a little difficult to understand, I think that he was trying to tell me than even if I started my application within 6 months time, it would be impossible for me to make the move before April 2008, as I would have to wait until April before the US Government assign the visas to people. This sounds quite upsetting to me, as obviously I would like to be with my girlfriend as quickly as I can .