Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• H4 to H1 COS

My question is :

Do the employer have to say at the time of filing h1 that its employee is in USA- h4 for COS, or

the employee can file for h1 with no h4 stamping then after 1 apr go for h4 stamping , fly to USA and later after h1 approval-apply for change the status to h1 without restamping, or

restamping is required from canada/mexico or home country.

Thanks in advance.

How about rephrasing your questions?

To file for a H1 with COS, it is necessary that you are in legal H4 status. If you do not have an H4 stamp but have maintained your H4 status, that is fine.
    Last edited by DMX17; 04-28-2008, 05:38 PM.
    Check out H1 FAQs first!
    http://www.immihelp.com/visas/h1b/h1-visa-faq.html

Comment

I had to read the post multiple times to get what you were trying to say. Would help if you could rewrite clearly.

From what I understood, No and Yes are the answers.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

Firstly Apologies for confusing question.

The situation is I am on h1 in USA, and my wife does not have a h4 stamping.
        She has her h1 filed thru a consultant.

My question is : Now if Her case is picked thru Lottery , Can she first get her h4 stamped and come here on h4 and then later get COS to h1 or she has to go for a restamping at her home country.
        The point is her consultant wants her to join only in March-April 2009.
        Last edited by panand82; 04-28-2008, 09:17 PM.

Comment

Yes, she can apply for her H4 anytime even when H1b is in process and enter US. She can change her status inside US to H1b without stamping.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

H4-H1 while in US, stamping in Mexico

Hi all,