Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• h1b - new employer!

Hi,

I have applied for my h1b transfer thru my new employer , i go the approval and , earlier h1 was untill 2009, this one i got is untill 2011 , a quick thing this new approval notice has a new i94 number and the extension date on it is untill 2011, i hope we get a new i94 number and it not be the same number as the one i have on my passport ??

thanks
    AN

Your question is not properly phrased.

It is NOT right to get a new I-94 number with an extension. You need to bring it to the attention of your attorney and get it corrected immediately. USCIS will issue a new I797 with the I-94 number matching the white I-94 from the airport.

It is a MUST. I had gone through this once and the attorney got a new petition issued in 3-4 weeks.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

Hi txh1b. I have received new I-94 along with the new I-797 when I changed my employer ( I-94 has the same number as my previous one) but have new exp. date on it. My old one had 2010 validity (till the old petition) and new I-94 has validity until exp of new petition. I am assuming that you are trying to say that we shouldn't receive new # on new I-94 but can have new exp date. Please correct me if I have missundestood you? Thanks

Comment

The new I-94 expiration date can be different. It is based on how long the new employer petitioned to hire and employ you. You can only work for the new employer till the date of validity of their I797/I-94.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

I told my attorney, he says its fine that should not be a problem as any how u will give the i94 back when you move out of US and get a new one on return ??

Comment