Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• H1B visa - Mexico or Canada.

Hi,

I came to US on an L2 visa in October 2007. I already had an H1B in 2007 and I got a COS from L2 EAD to H1B in April 2008. I received my I-797 and my new I-94 valid thru 2011. I have no plans to go to my home country before 2011. I graduated with a Masters from US in 2002 and I currently work for one of the top Federal contractors in US. My queries are the following:

a) Since I have never been out of status in my F-1, B-1, L-2 or H-1 visas, can I attend a Visa interview in Mexico/Canada?
    b) How long does it take to get an interview date, Mexico visa etc etc?
    c) What is the PIMS process? I know users like DMX17 will divert me to other related posts but this query is in the context of my current situation.
    d) Can I just drive up north to Canada and attend the Consulate interview?
    e) What are the rejection rates in both these locations?

I would appreciate if someone can provide a response to my queries.

Originally posted by h1bquery
    I know users like DMX17 will divert me to other related posts
    Is my "deverting" a good thing or bad thing?
    Check out H1 FAQs first!
    http://www.immihelp.com/visas/h1b/h1-visa-faq.html

Comment

a. Yes
      b. Check nvars.
      c. No special process. Consulate cross verifies your petition. Check other linked list of posts.
      d. Your choice.
      e. No such statistics are available nor feasible.

Your top federal contractor job might cause additional delays if the VO thinks so and if you are involved with a job that deals with national security or involving federal clearances.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

i handle information security for a civil dept client. not aware of any security clearance requirements

Comment

Can someone please reply?