Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• COS from H4 to H1

Hi,

Many thanks to the maker n members of such an informative site and esp the forum.

Current status:

I am on H4 visa.
    H1B has been approved( effective date 1st Oct 2008 )
    COS amendment has been filed.

Question:
    While the COS process goes on and if i don't receive the letter for status change by 1st Oct 08 , am i eligible to work?

Please reply.

Thanks in advance,
    Didwin

No work without a COS approval and a new I-94 with the H1 status.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

Thanks txh1b.

I read on a forum that it takes 2 - 6 months for the COS approval, but that would mean a long wait.
      Is there any premium processing for this. ?

Also if i get COS, do i still need to a get new I-94 ?

Thanks again.

-didwin

Comment

COS means you will get a new I-94 attached to the approval. As the amendment is on form I129, i believe it could be PPd.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

Cos

Hi,

I have similar case. I am on H4 visa and my H1B got approved in June. My COS was also filed and is pending.

1) When can I expect the COS approval to come? I need to travel to India but my lawyer has asked me not to do so until COS is approved.

2) Also I got a new I-94 card attached to my 797, does that mean I can travel?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Comment

1. Your lawyer is absolutely right.
            2. You got it or will get it? Yes, that means a COS is approved.

Comment

Thanks for the response!

I do have an I-94 attached to my approval notice (I-797). Does this mean my COS is approved? However, when I enter the information on USCIS website, it still says case status "recieved and pending"!