Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Consulate for H1B stamping

Hello,

I am currently in the US on H1B. I am planning to attend my H1B stamping in India. Can I go to any consulate of my choice or do I need to go to Chennai as I am from Karnataka? Please let me know from your experiences.

Thanks.

Chennai. If you go elsewhere, you will be directed to Chennai.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

Thanks, does it change if...

This is my 2nd H1B stamping?

My stamping chronology

2002 H1B (Chennai)
      2005 F1 (Kolkatta)

Now I am at a new firm after graduation. The last time around, I was able to go to Kolkatta as I was already in the US. This time, VFS is giving me contradictory responses every time I call them. Please let me know

Comment

Chennai is the safest bet unless you want to have some adventure.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

Thanks.

I see what you mean. Thanks again.

Comment

Successful stamping at Mumbai on 10/15

We were issued a visa on 10/15 at Mumbai. It was a brief interview for 2 -3 minutes. My 797 approval notice states Chennai as the consulate, but as I am already residing in the US and this is my 2nd H1 stamping I was able to go to Mumbai. My state of residence in India is Karnataka. My wife was working in the US and quit her job before leaving for India and was applying for an H4 visa.
            Visa Chronology
            My first H1 stamping was from Chennai,
            I then quit to pursue my MBA and had an F1 stamping from Kolkata.
            This was my first stamping for the new job.
            Questions
            VO: Good Morning
            We: Good Morning
            VO: So you two are already in the US?
            We: Yes