L1/h1

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• L1/h1

I applied for H1B through Employer A in April 2008 and it is still in pending status. In the mean time I got a L1 through my current employer in Mid September '2008 and came to USA in Mid October '2008. Suppose if my H1B gets approved, do I automatically lose the L1 status even though the approved H1B is new and not a Change of Status. In otherwords, does my H1B approval makes me illegal to work on my L1 visa and forces me to work for the H1B employer.

You reply is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

If it is not COS (which is apparent as you were not in US when it was applied), you can continue on the current status.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

L1/h1

txh1b,

Thank you so much for your Quick Response.

Comment

L1/h1

Hello txh1b,

I have another question related to this. After my H1B got approved, can I file for COS to change the status from L1 to H1?. Or I have to go out of the country to get the H1B stamped and enter the united states again?

Please advise.

Thanks

Comment

Did you read the FAQs? Yes, COS is possible and you have to begin H1b work immediately upon approval of COS. You cannot work for L1 employer. No grace period.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

Begin date in past

Hi txh1b,
            What if the H1 employer gets the response of COS on say Nov 17 2008 with a begin date of Nov 12 2008? As the employee, I am notified of this approval only on Nov 17 2008 - what options do I have?
            1. Leave L1 employer today (Nov 17 2008) and begin searching for a job on H1 status.
            2. (Is this option possible, at all?) Leave US & return based on the L1 status?
            Rgds,
            MN