Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• L1 to H1 COS rejected

Hi,

I came to US using L1B visa sponsored by company A. This year(2008) company B applied for Change Of Status (COS) to H1B for me. While my H1B was getting processed i went to India, so my H1b petition was approved but my COS was rejected.

In my petition approval copy (I-797C) it says that i have to go back to chennai for getting H1B stamping.
    These are my questions
    1) Is there any way i can do L1 to H1 COS from US?
    2) If it is possible, can Company C do this L1 to H1 COS using the petition approved for company B?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
    Bala

Yes and Yes. Refer to FAQs.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

Hello,

I'm also on L1B working in the US. I applied for H1B this year and was with COS from L1 to H1.
      I void the COS, I travelled to my home country during H1B processing so that I can stay on L1B even when my H1 is approved.

1) Is there any problem working on L1B after H1 is approved?
      2) Will I get my H1B with a new I94 or is the one that I have is the latest I94?
      3) L1B company is planning to file for an extension in Feb 09. Will they get an RFE just because I have an approved H1 ?
      4) Is there any chance of my stay getting affected (illegal stay)because I habe two work visas with me ?
      5) Can my L1 employer create any problems for me if they come to know that I have filed for H1 ?
      6) Will the H1 consultant threaten me if I do not join him ? Can he sue me ? I have not signed any document / contract.

Thanks.

Comment

1. No
        2. You will not get the I-94 ideally. Even if you do, you will get it with old I-94 number which is not valid anymore as it was returned at exit.
        3. No
        4. No. You have two petitions not visas.