H1-B extension stamping - last one year remaining for H1-B

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• H1-B extension stamping - last one year remaining for H1-B

I am on my H1-B visa here in United States since Jan 2005. The first 3-year of the H1-B got expired in Dec 2007. My current I-797 has date of Jan 2010 and so does my I-94 card.
    I am visiting India in Jan 2009, so I will have to get my passport re-stamped for H1-B extension until Jan 2010. I work as a consultant and I have never been on bench, I have my pay stubs to prove that.
    My Green card in process and my I-140 has been approved and waiting for my priority date to be current. It would be a great help if you could comment on the following questions.

1) Would it be advisable to visit India for H1-B stamping (Mumbai Consulate) in Jan 2009, since my 1st three years of H1-B visa is already expired in Dec 2007 and I have just one more year to go from Jan 2009 on my 2nd three years tenure of H1-B?

2) If the consulate officer asks me why am I planning to go back since I just have one more year left for my total 6 years of H1-B visa, should I mention him about my Green card process and my I-140 has been approved and waiting on I-485?

3) If the consulate officer asks me how long will I be planning to stay in United States, should I just mention the last date on my I-797 and I-94 which is Jan 2010?

Any input on this situation would be helpful.
    Thank you much...
    Mayuresh

1. Your fears are baseless.
    2. To continue in your job. Your GC is immaterial here. They will not ask such a question in the first place.
    3. Yes, as of now you dont have authorization to stay past that date.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

1) Why not?

2) The question you came up with, if asked, should be answered truely.

3) same as 2)