Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New H1B Cap H4-H1 Issues.

Hi,
    X company is applying NEW H1B for my wife in this April2009 Cap.
    She is planning to leave India on April15th and will be back on May15th.
    I am not including COS along with H1B since she is leaving the country on May 15th.
    1. If she gets her H1B approval I797 some time in July, shall we apply for COS from H4to H1 in Aug/Sep/Oct ?? OR
    2. Is it better to apply her COS along with H1B and update the INS with the new I-94 as soon as she comes back on May 15th ?

Can some one help here please..

Option 2 does not exist as you cannot update anything unless USCIS asks for it.

COS makes it necessary for the person to get paid from day 1 of the H1b approval to maintain status.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

Thanks for the info and I can conclude that I can eliminate option-2. But I still don't know why can't we do updates..

How about option-1. We are planning to apply COS in premium once she gets her job. Can we apply COS from H4-H1 after getting her I-797 ? Since she is going to leave the country during H1 processing(May15-June15), she was afraid if there will be any issues when she apply for COS from H4-H1.

Appreciate your reply.

Dileep

Comment

Originally posted by dileep24p
        We are planning to apply COS in premium once she gets her job. Can we apply COS from H4-H1 after getting her I-797 ? Since she is going to leave the country during H1 processing(May15-June15), she was afraid if there will be any issues when she apply for COS from H4-H1.
        You can apply for COS once the H1 has been approved. This will essentially be another H1 not subject to cap if the H1 without COS is approved, but this time with COS.