Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• H-1 to f-1

Dear Experts,

I would truly appreciate if you can guide me in this matter. I graduated in 2007 from US school and since then I have been on H-1b. Due to current economic situation and lots of layoffs at my work place, I am planning to go back to school to get another Masters or Ph.D. It sounds like COS process takes around 4 months. So, my questions are….

1.) When do I need to apply for my change of status? ( In other words, should I file my change of status before I resign or get layoff or this process should start after my termination from the job?)
    2.) I have already got admission for both the programs. So, If I get layoff tomorrow can I file for my COS from H-1 TO F1 immediately?
    3.) Am I considered out of status during the time when COS status takes place from H1 to F1?
    4.) Will I be subject to cap in the future for H1?

I look forward to hear from you guys soon. Thanks for your time and help

Any senior members please reply. Appreciate your time and help

Comment

1. Any type of COS has to be started before you lose your currently held status. For F1, you should also keep the semester dates in mind. Once a COS is approved, you can no longer work even if you held on to the job.
      2. Yes. Better if you apply as per #1
      3. No. It is authorized stay if you use #1 instructions.
      4. Not if you have not used your 6 years. Read the FAQs.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

Originally posted by txh1b View Post
        1. Any type of COS has to be started before you lose your currently held status. For F1, you should also keep the semester dates in mind. Once a COS is approved, you can no longer work even if you held on to the job.
        2. Yes. Better if you apply as per #1
        3. No. It is authorized stay if you use #1 instructions.