Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• H1 Stamping in Canada

Dear Senior Members,

I am a resident of India currently living in Canada and doing my MBA.

My US employer had applied for my H1B when I was in India and the petition got approved. As i was not hopeful of the approval given the economic situation in US, I took the opportunity to pursue my MBA in Canada.

To my surprise, the H1 petition got approved.

I am not clear whether i have to go back to India to take my H1 Visa interview (or) Can i take it in Canada ?

Kindly provide your insights.

Thanks a lot

For a first time H1B candidate, the U.S consulate in Canada has to evaluate the individual's educational background. It becomes very difficult to do the educational evaluation for a thrid country national unless the person has completed his/her degree in Canada or U.S. For this reason, when a candidate who is NOT a permanent resident of Canada or candidate without a U.S/Canadian degree applied for the first H1B visa, the VO usually ask the candidate to go back to their home country. Since you are already a student in Canada, I would say that it is worth giving a try. At the worst case, the VO will ask you to get it stamped in India.
    Not a legal advice. Use of this information is strictly at your own risk.

Comment

Dear Senior Member,

Thanks for taking time to provide your comments.

I have explored immihelp forums for People trying to get US Visa when under Student Status.

http://www.immihelp.com/forum/showth...student+canada

• Your sister is on a student visa in Canada. She has no social or economic ties to Canada that can be used to prove that she will return. Yes, she is a student there but that is a situation that can easily be changed. She can at any point decide she does not want to study there and leave. There is nothing binding.