Mixed Insurance Banners Health Insurance for Visitors to USA

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Transferring from H1B to F1 and back on H1B with very few months left on 6th year

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Transferring from H1B to F1 and back on H1B with very few months left on 6th year

So here is my complicated situation:

I came to the US on a F1 in 2002 for my Masters in Engineering.
    I graduated in 2005 but I started working in 2004 in a Engineering firm thanks to my CPT and partially used up my OPT before my h1B visa kicked in Oct 2005.
    Over time I felt my career stagnate and I have decided to pursue a full time MBA. I am clearly not interested in a Part-time program (which would make life easier for me) because of its cons.
    My 6th year ends in Oct 2011 and my current engineering company is in the process of filing for my labor through the PERM processing.

Pursuing a full time MBA would mean transferring from a H1B to a F1 in Aug 2011. But here are the complications/questions.

1) When I transfer to a F1 when school starts in Aug 2011, I would have transferred to a F1 status which would leave me with very few months on my H1B, that is the time I gave up from Aug-Oct 2011 (my 6th year). So when I graduate MBA school in 2 years I will not have sufficient time on my H1B to be hired by recruiters in the US. (My thinking:Why would a recruiter in the US want to hire me when my H1B expires in a few months?)My research also tells me that I am not eligible for a 2nd OPT since my first OPT was partially used up after my first masters (in Engg) and a 2nd OPT is only issued for a degree higher in qualification than a Masters such as PHD and MBA is clearly not. I am open to working in other countries and staying out of the US for a year after graduation to be eligible for a fresh H1B extension provided I find a job.