Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which consulate should I apply to for H4 visa ? **urgent**

Hi,

I am planning to get married in Dec and go for a H4 visa interview immediately after marriage. I am a resident of Karnataka and my husband is from Maharashtra.

My husband is on H1B and he also needs to go for an H1B visa stamping - hence we were planning to go together - he being the primary applicant.

My question is - when I try to check available interview dates on VFS website and select Karnataka as my state of residence it just shows Chennai - but I would like to go to the Mumbai consulate with my husband. When my husband tries to check the available dates he can see Mumbai as well as Chennai. Can I go to the mumbai consulate for my interview ? and if yes how should i go about taking the date ?

Thanks in advance for your help !

You can go to Mumbai. Use Husband's Maharashtra address as current address in the Visa application.
    This is my opinion and not legal advice.

Comment

Hi - thanks a lot for your reply ! If I put my husbands address as my address in DS160 form then does that mean that while making the appointment I can say that I am a resident on Maharshtra ? If the visa officer realizes that my passport has a Karnataka address then will that create any issues ?

Thanks

Comment

The address in the passport doesn't matter so much. If you are residing in Maharastra for the last 6 months, then you need to go to the consulate that falls under that consular district.

Originally posted by ash2010 View Post
        Hi - thanks a lot for your reply ! If I put my husbands address as my address in DS160 form then does that mean that while making the appointment I can say that I am a resident on Maharshtra ? If the visa officer realizes that my passport has a Karnataka address then will that create any issues ?

Thanks
        Not a legal advice. Use of this information is strictly at your own risk.

Comment

Hi OP,