finishing up a university project while on H1B

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• finishing up a university project while on H1B

I graduated from a phd program 2 years ago and started working on an h1b visa that the company sponsored. My phd advisor from the university and I have been trying to publish 2 publications from my previous work at the university. I work on this on my spare time ie weekends and evening. My advisor also updates my university email so that I can have an active account for this ongoing project. I work full time for a company and they were not happy when they found out about this specially because I will not put in my publications my affiliation with my new company since my advisor is against it. When I started working for the company in January 2008, I already had finished all the labwork for these publications. But I did do writing and corrections while working for the company. Is it illegal for me to continue to finish up my publications on my spare time?
    Last edited by giannisgeorgiopoulos; 11-11-2010, 05:41 PM.

It is certainly illegal to perform other work and it may also be against your company's policies to do so. Try to take it up with your advisor to have company affiliation endorsed on the paper. Try and reach an amicable solution if possible.
    This is my opinion and not legal advice.

Comment

It really depends on if you are getting paid for this work or not. You are okay to work on publications etc on your free time as long as you are not getting paid.

For example, one can register for classes on H1b and complete a degree working on papers, assignments etc. I look at this the same way as long as no monetary compensation is involved.