B1 Cancelled, shall i go for H1B ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• B1 Cancelled, shall i go for H1B ?

My Business visa was cancelled and L1B rejected when I went for L1B processing this year, officer was not convinced with the fact that I was in US on B1 for business purpose, I stayed 3 months (first visit, I-94 for 3 months) & 5 months (second visit, I-94 for 6 months) on B1 visa around 4-5 years back, I was on business ‘requirement/knowledge transfer’ for a reputed bank both the times.
    Now I am planning to go for H1B process this year, what are chances to get the visa. I have more than 8 years of experience in IT.
    Can they reject H1B on the ground of my B1 cancellation ? Shall I wait for filing H1B, will it help if I file for H1B next year ?

Are you sure they denied L1 just because of B1 as these days lots of L1 are being rejected and embassy gives the reason that L1 is for a person with some specialized knowledge in a particulr domain and a different visa class(H1B) has to be applied. Which Consulate did you go to? Did they tell you that they are denying L1 because of b1 as you went to US on B1 long back.

Comment

Originally posted by sriramusa View Post
      Are you sure they denied L1 just because of B1 as these days lots of L1 are being rejected and embassy gives the reason that L1 is for a person with some specialized knowledge in a particulr domain and a different visa class(H1B) has to be applied. Which Consulate did you go to? Did they tell you that they are denying L1 because of b1 as you went to US on B1 long back.
      I am not sure about it, but many times he told me " I don't believe your story" I had a long discussion with VO on my previous visits. He was not at all convinced with my previous business trips. But at last he told me to apply in other categories.