Mixed Insurance Banners Health Insurance for Visitors to USA

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

H1-B about to be filed; might want to begin a PhD in 4 months.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• H1-B about to be filed; might want to begin a PhD in 4 months.

I am an international student who graduated with a master's from a US institute in December 2011, had an EAD start date in Feb 2012 (i.e OPT start date), and will start to work (shortly) in March 2012. The organization that I will work for intends to file for an H1-B visa for me in the month of April 2012.

I have also applied to PhD programs and will not know at the time of H1-B filing whether or not I will be attending a PhD program (it depends on which schools I get into). PhD programs will commence in August 2012 (i.e. 4 months after my H1-B is filed). My previous graduate school says that IF I am on OPT, they will transfer my SEVIS record a few days before I start at my new school, and I will continue to be on an F-1 visa.

I had a few queries regarding my situation. Specifically:

1. What happens if I decide to accept a PhD offer AFTER the company has filed for an H1-B? Will I need to quit the company immediately after an I-20 is issued (or only on the date of SEVIS record transfer)?

2. How long does it take for the H1-B visa to come through? If the H1-B has not come through, can I continue working till July 2012 on OPT and then do a SEVIS record transfer ?

3. If the H1-B does come through, will I need to go back to my country of origin and apply for an F-1 visa or can I do a change of status from within the US (I hear it takes up to 6 months)?

In case there is any additional information that I need to know, I'd be thankful if you could provide it.

Thanks in advance for your time. Sorry about not being more brief.

Please help

I would really, really appreciate a response. To make the question more brief: