Mixed Insurance Banners Health Insurance for Visitors to USA

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

2008 Approved H1B never used..so can I now?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2008 Approved H1B never used..so can I now?

I have a approved H1B from 2008. I never used it. validity on that is till sept 2011.
    I am currently on L1B last year( i.e 5th year). Can I change the company based on my old H1B?

If yes do I need to apply for COS from curent L1B to H1B? how long my H1B will be valid? Do I need to go out of US for stamping? Please let me know the best positive possibilities. Thanks in advance.

L1+H1 total is 6 years. You can have any company file for a COS to H1b and use it after the COS is approved.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

need info.

Thanks for the reply. The H1 is sponsored by say consultancy A. If I am joining some other consultancy they just need to apply for COS or they need to apply for transfer as well?

If they apply for COS I hope I will loose my L1B and job with current employer right?

Originally posted by txh1b View Post
      L1+H1 total is 6 years. You can have any company file for a COS to H1b and use it after the COS is approved.

Comment

The H1 is sponsored by say consultancy A. If I am joining some other consultancy they just need to apply for COS or they need to apply for transfer as well?
        >>> They will need to file a COS from L1 to H1B. You cannot work for the H1B sponsor until the COS gets approved. Once the COS gets approved, you should work for the H1B sponsor and any employment with the L1 employer will be considered as illegal employment.

If they apply for COS I hope I will loose my L1B and job with current employer right?
        >>> I am not getting you. If you want to be in L1 and work for the L1 sponsor, then why do you want to file H1B?