X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tax Return After Leaving US - H1B Visa

Hi All,

I could use some help in case anyone knows. Thanks in advance

I lived in the US for 5 years (H1B Visa) until September 2022, then I moved back to Europe. Now I need to file US taxes for 2022. My question is, do I have to include the income I made on my new job in Europe from September to December?

I consulted with HR Block and they said NO since I am not a US Resident. But during 2022 and before I was a United States resident for tax purposes (based on the substantial presence test).

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Best

B

Originally posted by BAM1414 View Post
    Hi All,

I could use some help in case anyone knows. Thanks in advance

I lived in the US for 5 years (H1B Visa) until September 2022, then I moved back to Europe. Now I need to file US taxes for 2022. My question is, do I have to include the income I made on my new job in Europe from September to December?

I consulted with HR Block and they said NO since I am not a US Resident. But during 2022 and before I was a United States resident for tax purposes (based on the substantial presence test).

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Best

B
    The tax rate in Europe is higher than in the U.S. correct?

Comment