Mixed Insurance Banners Health Insurance for Visitors to USA

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

L1B extension filed - can I apply for H4 EAD to be on the safe side?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• L1B extension filed - can I apply for H4 EAD to be on the safe side?

Hello everyone, I have been working in USA on an L1B visa since April 2018. My company has filed for an L1B extension [non premium processing] last week as my L1 I-94 date is approaching expiration. I was told I would receive a result from USCIS - approved, rejected or RFE in 4-5 months time. My question is - I got married recently and my spouse has a I-140 approved H1B application. Should I simultaneously apply for an H4 and H4 EAD application right now. The reason why I am worried is - if my L1B extension gets rejected for any reason - and I apply for the H4 EAD then - in Aug/Sept 21 - it would take another 8-9 months for the EAD to come through. In the meanwhile, I would become unemployed in US. If I file now - I can ask my company to allow me to work for 3-4 months from India till my EAD gets approved by Dec.

My questions are:
    1. Will filing for H4 and H4 EAD now impact my L1B extension application?
    2. What is the current processing times for L1B extension applications and H4 and H4 EAD applications [average]? Husband's H1B was filed in California.
    3. I was planning to apply for H4 and H4 EAD in May and withdraw those applications if my L1 extension comes through in Sept? Is that legal and advisable?

Thanks and best regards,
    Aparajita

Originally posted by Amazumda View Post
    1. Will filing for H4 and H4 EAD now impact my L1B extension application?
    No - both can run in parallel.
    2. What is the current processing times for L1B extension applications and H4 and H4 EAD applications [average]? Husband's H1B was filed in California.
    Approximately 6 months for L1B extension & 12 months for H4 EAD.