F2 visa denied 214 b reason given

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• F2 visa denied 214 b reason given

I am studying in a top 20 business school in the US on a 90% scholarship. My wife has a valid H1 B that was processed this February but since the job was in New york and I am in a different state we decided that I will call her and my daughter on F2 visa. However their visa was denied under 214 b recently. This is the conversation my wife had with the visa officer.
    I know my wife did a few mistakes and it was becuase we had hired a consultant to prepare her for the interview but he did not provide us with the right inputs.
    My question is what can we do to reapply for the F2 visa. I have suffient funds with me on my I-20 to support them and have support of my father if needed in future. I also got a very good internship for the summer that I can add to the I-20. But is there anything we can do to improve my wife and daughter visa chances.
    Can my wife say that she could not not explain the questions clearly last time and is well prepared this time. Please suggest how she should approach the interview now.

Conversation

Me: Very good morning to you
    VO: Hello
    VO: Please show me your passport
    VO: Which visa are you applying for?
    Me: F2
    VO: Show me your I 20 form
    Me: Gave I 20 for myself and daughter
    VO: So your husband is studying in Rice University ?
    Me: Yes
    VO: When did his course begin?
    Me: August 2016
    VO: When is his course finishing?
    Me: May 2018
    VO: What are his plans after the course?
    Me: He still has another year to go, So, I can't comment on his plans right now.
    VO: Ok, So he still has another year
    Me: Yes
    VO: How much rent is he paying ?
    Me: Around 1000 dollars per month. He is sharing the apartment with his friend, So it comes somewhere around 750 per month.
    VO: Will you be staying in the same shared apartment?