Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• *SPECIAL SITUATION* -- Applying for OPT

Hello,

I went to a private college in the USA on an F-1 Visa. My F-1 Visa expired in 2016 because I originally started at one college in 2012 and then transferred. I finished college in December and have my graduation this May 20th. My I-20 states that it is valid till May 25 2019.

However, Since i finished all my credits in December, I left the country on December 24th and am currently in Brazil. Now, I was approved a tourist B1/B2 visa to go back to the USA to attend my Graduation.

My international advisor said I'm still able to apply for OPT as they count my graduation as May, so my 60 days are still ongoing. But, since I'm coming in on a tourist visa, will this mean I can't get a OPT? Would that even matter? A visa is simply a means of getting into a country. I was still legal in the states with an expired F-1 visa because my I-20 wasn't expired and I was a full-time student.

Does anyone know if I will be able to get my OPT or will I just lose 410$ by applying

Originally posted by brazilianstudent View Post
    Hello,

I went to a private college in the USA on an F-1 Visa. My F-1 Visa expired in 2016 because I originally started at one college in 2012 and then transferred. I finished college in December and have my graduation this May 20th. My I-20 states that it is valid till May 25 2019.

However, Since i finished all my credits in December, I left the country on December 24th and am currently in Brazil. Now, I was approved a tourist B1/B2 visa to go back to the USA to attend my Graduation.