Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• F-1 Visa stamp while STEM OPT pending approval

Hello,

I'd really appreciate it if I could get help from people who are/were in a similar situation that I'm currently in.

A quick background. I came to the U.S under H4 in 2012, went back to India in 2014 and re-entered the U.S under H4 again in 2015. I was already doing my undergraduate studies while on H4. I turned 21 years of age in 2016 and acquired an F-1 Student Visa through COS. As I was already in the United States when I received the F-1 Student visa, I did not get an F-1 Visa stamp in my passport. I have not been back to India during the intervening years, therefore, I have not had the opportunity for the U.S. Embassy in India to provide me that stamp.

I'm currently in my first year of OPT which expires in February of 2020. I already applied for STEM OPT in December 2019 and am waiting for its approval.

The situation that I am currently in is that I need to travel to India in February of 2020. I've been advised to NOT travel to India until I get my STEM OPT approved. However, once I get my approval, I need to go to the U.S. Embassy in India to get my Visa stamp. I'd like to know the interview process, the documents that I need to carry and anything that I need to be aware of in general.

Thanks in advance.