X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OPT Application Rejected - Ran out of days

Greetings community,
    My name is Juan and I come from Brazil.
    I have gotten my bachelor's degree in business and I graduated on May 9th. I have sent my application for OPT on June 26th and I got a response on July 2nd that they received. Unfortunately today 07/24/2020 I got a notification from USCIS that says "due to insufficient funds my application was rejected". I just ran out of the 60 day grace period to apply for OPT. The issue is that I did have money for my application and my financial institution said that I did not have enough funds to pay for the fee even though I do.
    I wonder if I can reapply even though my 60 day grace period is over or if there’s anyone I should talk to about my bank’s mistake.
    To whom should I talk, what should I do, how can I appeal this case, how can I reapply, how can we fix this situation.
    Please, anything would be of huge help!!!

Thanks a lot, community!
    Please reach me out

Rules surrounding OPT are clear and strict.
    After course completion:
    You have 60 days from that date to apply for OPT (USCIS must receive the application / receipt).
    If OPT is denied within the 60 days, then you can re-apply.

If OPT is denied after the 60 days (your case), then you lose the benefit
    Unfortunately, you lost the chance and are now accruing illegal presence.
    You can appeal a decision (I-290B) but this process is expensive ($700+) and risky in your case (USCIS will not reconsider due to issues with the bank / insufficient funds / etc. )

Since you are already in the US, I would recommend that you talk to the same university & apply for another course right away.
    Then leave the country within 10 days and wait in Brazil till they process your application & send you the new I-20