Mixed Insurance Banners Health Insurance for Visitors to USA

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Issues with past F-1 visa and I-20- Any advice?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Issues with past F-1 visa and I-20- Any advice?

Hey!
    I've posted here once before and posting again. I was a student at Athens Technical College in GA. Completed my Associate's Degree in Electromechanical Engineering and decided to pursue a degree in Welding since I'd already taken a few Welding classes to fulfil my 12 credit hours per semester clause of my F-1 visa. Was put into Interdisciplinary Studies program by the school's administration since Welding was on a diploma level and I could only be enrolled in degree programs. Well quarter of the way through 2021 I heard through the grapevine that Athens Tech had lost their ability issue I-20s and could not host international students anymore. Inquired about this with administration, they said they had got everything sorted out and I could continue with classes. Got an email from a fellow international student saying that he had received a letter from USCIS saying otherwise. I didn't receive a letter or any other form or correspondence through mail or email. Inquired with administration again and they said everything was in order and to sign up for classes for the next semester. Well, on the day I was supposed to pay my fees I was told that I couldn't enroll for the next semester since the school couldn't issue I-20s anymore. And lo and behold, the issue had never been settled or taken care of and my I-20 had been in limbo for a couple of moths now. I was told to try and transfer to a different school and continue my studies.