Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should I Sponsor My Mom's Visit Visa?

Hi,

I am a student working on F-1 OPT and I intend to invite my mom on visitor visa to the U.S.

My mom is a widow and has previously traveled to Australia twice to visit my sister (we are her only children). She has an apartment, a car, and savings certificates in her name from which she receives some monthly profits.

I was initially willing to sponsor her visit visa, but I was advised that an independent application always has much higher chance of approval, and given her travel profile, assets, and strong ties to the country, she should apply independently.

If I go the independent application route, I am afraid, she might not have enough liquid cash in her bank account to show at the time of interview.

I am having a hard time deciding if her visa application should be independent or should I sponsor it? Her visit visa to Australia was independent.

Please provide some advice in this regard.

Thanks!

The petitioning sponsors must present evidences to prove that they are financially able to support both the immigrant and their own household. The requirements to become a qualified sponsor to intending immigrants are as follows:
    1. Must be a US citizen or a permanent resident in the US;
    2. Must be at least 18 years of age or older;
    3. Must be living in the US when they file the Affidavit of Support;
    4. Must prove an income level at or above 125 % of the Federal poverty level
    What if the petitioner’s income does not meet the minimum income requirement?

If the principal sponsor does not meet the financial qualifications by income alone, proof of ownership of valuable assets (e.g. savings, houses, cars, stocks, bonds or property) can be declared to fill in the gap. These assets, however, must be readily convertible to cash within 1 year to be counted for immigration sponsorship purposes.