Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• H1-B NO work

H1-B NO work

I have a masters degree from the US. After my masters I got married and did not work for almost 2 years. An Indian consulting company filed a H1(april 2008) for me which was approved with start date of 1st october 2008.
    I was on F1 (not on OPT, it expired last year) earlier and could not find a legitimate employer to sponsor my H1-B because of the huge cap-gap (the time between 1st April(the visa filing date) and 1 st october (the date when work visa become effective) during which i am cannot work
    When I decided to get my H1-B from the consulting company I did not have any idea what I was getting in to.
    My employer made me change my resume. He started marketing my resume almost a month ago. He asked me get rid of my actual resume from all job sites. After that, each requirement he would get, he would make me change my resume accordingly. Today I have at least 20 different versions of my resume, keeping track of these is getting difficult and naturally it will not be easy to back up the content of the resume in an interview if one ever comes up. In spite of all the resume changing business, he hasn’t been able to get me single interview yet. I think my resume never actually gets to the client through the myriad chain of consultants and vendor in between. I did not expect to get into this. I would rather spend my time refreshing and updating my actual skills rather than spending time in manipulating my resume each time. I cannot search for a job on my own openly; I don't even want to think about the trouble he will get me into if I get a fulltime job on my own.
    He made me pay for the visa filing ($2500) and did not even train me. He made me sign a contract (1 yr services and $10,000 fine if contract is breached)
    He has not paid me yet. He hasn’t given me my H1-B approval documents.
    I have committed a terrible mistake and I don't have a clue how to make things right.