Visa Waiver Program - VWP
Under the Visa Waiver Program, citizens of the following countries do not require a visa to enter the U.S. as a visitor or business traveler if the person has not violated the terms of any past nonimmigrant visa (overstaying, etc.), would like to visit United States 90 days or less for business or tourism, and has a passport that meets the applicable requirements.

Andorra Hungary New Zealand
Australia Iceland Norway
Austria Ireland Portugal
Belgium Italy San Marino
Brunei Japan Singapore
Chile Latvia Slovakia
Czech Republic Liechtenstein Slovenia
Denmark Lithuania South Korea
Estonia Luxembourg Spain
Finland Malta Sweden
France Monaco Switzerland
Germany Netherlands Taiwan
Greece United Kingdom

The Visa Waiver Program (VWP) eliminates unnecessary barriers to travel to the U.S., promotes the tourism industry, and allows Department of State to concentrate and focus on high-risk areas.

The Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986 incorporated the pilot program of the Visa Waiver Program into the Immigration and Nationality Act. The Visa Waiver Permanent Program Act made the pilot program permanent on October 30, 2000. Section 217 of the INA provides the legal authority for the VWP.

Of course, those who qualify under the Visa Waiver Program can still apply for a regular visa if they wish to.

Canada, Mexico, and Bermuda do not participate in the Visa Waiver Program. There are other rules that govern the visa-free travel of some citizens of those countries.